Spring Awakening

Written by Frank Wedekind with Music by Duncan Sheik & Book & Lyrics by Steven Sater | Directed by James Moore

Photography by Chelsey Cliff


‘There’s a moment you know you’re f****d…
Not an inch more room to self-destruct…’

The cusp of adulthood, faced with everything and nothing.
Oppressed by the world they inhabit.
Originally written in the 1890’s, censored in the 1960’s, and crafted in to a multi award-winning musical in the 2000’s. Spring Awakening is a harrowing tale of misguided youth, the struggle for sense, and the reality of mis-education.
This fraught, raw and honest musical is an exploration of 19th century repression, seen through the eyes of teenagers, as they discover the inner and outer turmoil of teenage sexuality.

Contains adult themes. Recommended for ages 14+
This amateur production is presented by arrangement with Music Theatre International (Europe).
All authorised performance materials are also supplied by MTI Europe.

Showing: 30/01/2020 - 01/02/2020


Lucy-Anne Allen – Violin

Dillon Berry – Student Choreographer

Rob Browning – Deputy Stage Manager

Rosa Chamberlain – Student Design Assistant

Robin Davies – Double Bass & Electric Bass

Anna Dixon – Costumer Supervisor

Lizzie Donaldson – LX Programmer

Lisa Hall – Production Manager

Kay Hudson – Stage Manager

Laurie Jones – Drums

Laura Knight – Producer

Shannon Lawton – Student Assistant Stage Manager

Paul Lewzey – Sound Engineer

Juliet McCarthy – Cello

James Moore – Director

Lee Moss – Guitar

Frances Norburn – Set & Costume Designer

Nathan Ottley – Production Electrician

Ashleigh Powell – Musical Director & Keys 1

George Seal – Lighting Designer

Thanks to:

Lindsay Baker

Bath College Department of Hair & Make-Up for Media & Theatre

Tiff Burr

Kris Hallett

Daniel Hayes & Writhlington School

Deb Miles

Claudia Pepler

James Sellick

Matt Tipper

TRB Tech Crew,

The Rondo Team

The Egg Theatre Team


Ernst Robel / Reinhold – Luke William

Georg Zirchnitz / Dieter – Ciaran Foley

Hanschen Rilow / Rupert – Tobie Donovan

Ilse Neuman – Izzy Long

Marianna Wheelan – Erin Fletcher

Martha Bessel – Samara Romain

Melchior Gabor – Ollie Lamb

Moritz Stiefel – Dillon Berry

Otto Lammermeier / Ulbrecht – Charlie Woolley

Theadora Richter – Rachel Toone

Wendla Bergman – Ellie Stiles

Frau Bergmann / Fanny Gabor / Frau Bessell / Fräulein Großebüstenhalter / Fräulein Knuppeldick – Polly Lamb

Headmaster Knochenbruch / Herr Sonnenstich / Herr Gabor / Herr Stiefel / Herr Rilow / Herr Neumann / Father Kaulbach / Doctor von Brausepulver / Schmidt – Laurence Parnell

OTHER Productions